## **Judicial Merit Selection Commission**

Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Chairman

Rep. Micajah P. "Micah" Caskey IV, Vice-Chairman

Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Scott Talley Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Wallace H. "Jay" Jordan Jr.

Hope Blackley Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

November 17, 2022

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified and nominated at the public hearings held November 14-17, 2022:

## **Supreme Court**

Seat 4 The Honorable David Garrison "Gary" Hill, Greenville,

SC

The Honorable Aphrodite Konduros, Simpsonville, SC

The Honorable Stephanie Pendarvis McDonald,

Charleston, SC

**Court of Appeals** 

Seat 1 The Honorable Blake A. Hewitt, Conway, SC

Seat 2 Whitney B. Harrison, Columbia, SC

The Honorable Grace Gilchrist Knie, Campobello, SC The Honorable Letitia H. Verdin, Greenville, SC

**Circuit Court** 

15<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 Amanda A. Bailey, Myrtle Beach, SC

B. Alex Hyman, Conway, SC

At-Large, Seat 3 Patrick C. Fant III, Greenville, SC

Doward Keith Karvel Harvin, Florence, SC

S. Boyd Young, Columbia, SC

**Family Court** 

1<sup>st</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 3 Mandy W. Kimmons, Ridgeville, SC

Margie A. Pizarro, Summerville, SC

9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 6 Julianne M. Stokes, Daniel Island, SC

12<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 Philip B. Atkinson, Marion, SC

Alicia A. Richardson, Britton's Neck, SC

At-Large, Seat 7 The Honorable Thomas T. Hodges, Greenville, SC

At-Large, Seat 8 The Honorable Rosalyn Frierson-Smith, Columbia, SC

**Administrative Law Court** 

Seat 5 Stephanie N. Lawrence, Columbia, SC

The Honorable Crystal Rookard, Boiling Springs, SC

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified at the public hearings held November 14-17, 2022:

**Master-in-Equity** 

Pickens County John D. Harjehausen, Easley, SC

Adam B. Lambert, Easley, SC Kimberly S. Newton, Seneca, SC

Retired

Circuit Court The Honorable Edgar Warren Dickson, Orangeburg, SC

The Honorable Tommy Hughston, Charleston, SC

Family Court The Honorable Arthur Eugene "Gene" Morehead III,

Florence, SC

The Honorable Dana A. Morris, Camden, SC

As a reminder, the record remains open until the final report is issued at 12:00 Noon, Tuesday, January 17, 2023. Accordingly, judicial candidates are not free to seek or accept commitments until that time.

The election is currently scheduled for Noon on Wednesday, February 1, 2023.

Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows: Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, South Carolina 29202, (803) 212-6689 or Lindi Putnam, JMSC Administrative Assistant, (803) 212-6623.